Comana Monastery Dracula’s Resting Place
Originally a monastery-fortress founded by Vlad Tepes, who’s best known by his nickname Dracula, in 1461, the site fell into ruin before the end of the 16th century. The area was once a swamp, with access granted via a wooden bridge which was easy to burn in case of danger. In 1589, the original monastery was demolished and rebuilt with heavy fortifications, and subsequently restored several times. Along with the visible heritage, such as the colorful church interior, peaceful garden, and underground lapidary museum, the monastery’s biggest draw might be the mystique surrounding the headless body uncovered in the 1970s, which is believed to be that of Vlad Tepes.
Routes Stop to visit Comana Monastery on these transfers
Discover more Sights in Romania
Private door-to-door transfers between cities with local drivers. Door-to-Door service.
Convenient, affordable, and faster than a train. Custom sightseeing itineraries available.