Baranow Sandomierski CastleLittle Wawel
Originally built in the 16th century by the Italian royal architect Santi Gucci for Polish aristocrat Jedrzej Leszczynski, subsequent owner added their own touches to further enhance the structure. While the estate was destroyed twice by fire, and badly damaged during the Second World War, a 15 year renovation project beginning in 1953 has returned building to its former glory. Today, the castle offers a diverse museum experience. On the first floor, visitors can view the lavish rooms decorated with period furnishings and with Italian paintings. A trip to the basement reveals archaeological and geological exhibits, including mammoth bones, and a human skeleton from the Bronze Age, vessels from the Roman period, and an industrial and technological exhibition to remember the legacy of the Museum of the Sulphur Mining Region that was housed here from 1967-1997. To ensure the castle is open for your visit, please check their hours at https://www.baranow.com.pl/en/castle-and-museum/sightseeing
RoutesStop to visit Baranow Sandomierski Castle on these transfers
Discover moreSights in Poland
Private door-to-door transfers between cities with local drivers. Door-to-Door service.
Convenient, affordable, and faster than a train. Custom sightseeing itineraries available.